By Roza Grigoryan
2019-09-21 00:43
September 21 is Armenia's Independence Day
Today is the Independence Day of the Republic of Armenia. On September 21, 1991, the Armenian people voted for Armenia's independent future.

On August 23, 1990, the Supreme Council of the Republic of Armenia adopted the Declaration of Independence of Armenia, stating that the USSR would be dissolved and a new state, the Republic of Armenia, would be formed. On September 21, 1991, the Armenian people voted in favor of leaving the USSR during the independence referendum. In November 1991 Levon Ter-Petrosyan was elected the first President of the Republic of Armenia. On December 21, 1991, the Republic of Armenia joined the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).

Armenia gained full independence on December 26 of the same year as a result of the dissolution of the USSR.

After the declaration of independence by the Supreme Council, dozens of states recognized the Republic of Armenia. The first is Lithuania, which the Republic of Armenia recognized before the declaration of independence in 1991. on August 14. Then in 1991 During the same period, 47 more states recognized the independence of the Republic of Armenia.

As every year, different events will be held this year as well. This time the celebration center is Gyumri, the cultural capital.